Christmas is all around us

Dear T

Did you come up with the concept of ‘celebrigods’ yourself? It’s brilliant. You should copyright it. Like when Taylor Swift trademarked ‘this sick beat’. Sorry – This Sick Beat©

It was amazing to see you over the weekend. I’m still recovering from the lack of sleep. And I’m not likely to catch up anytime soon as my shifts at Waterstones start at 6am for the next four days. I’m also freelancing for BBC this week so I won’t be home until late each evening. So I’m sorry in advance if my blog letters (‘bletters©?’) are not up to scratch (or not up at all!)

The weekend was full of fun, food and festivities (and wine). It is, as they say, the most wonderful time of the year.

But now I’m feeling a little low on Christmas spirit. Since the weekend reality has smacked me in the face like an unwelcome Scrooge with work/early mornings/lack of pigs in blankets. So to lighten the mood (our recents posts which have been topical and interesting and wonderful have also been rather serious) and to cure my Christmas woes I’ve taken it upon myself to choose my top 5 favourite Christmassy films. Because if you can’t say it at Christmas when can you, eh? (Spot the Christmas quote!)


5. The Muppet Christmas Carol

Nowlarge_yUqTe0sf91jgamwzXoCwzg9zuKj I know you hate the Muppets and they scare you to death. But I love anything with a good song in it as you know very well. And a Charles Dickens adaptation. With a singing frog and Michael Caine. What’s not to love?

 

4. The Holiday

The-Holiday-DVD-coverA rom-com starring Jack Black sounds all wrong and it is. But on the other hand it’s so so right. And Jude Law is in it so…

 

 

3. Nativity

51m+IU3pEPL._SY300_
Again this is mainly featured because of the excellent songs. I’ve seen it about 45 times and it’s always amazing. Stay clear of the sequels though.

 

2. Gavin and Stacey Christmas special

51-UkqW5xELI realise this isn’t a film but nothing in this world makes me feel more festive and happy!

 

 

1. Love Actually

I do51-CU01Fp4L._SX940_n’t think I even need to say anything. This is the ultimate Christmas movie and always will be.

 

 

Hope you agree with some of those! All I want to do now is get into bed with a mince pie and watch James Corden as Smithy screaming out Do They Know it’s Christmas in his car.

But I’d better get some sleep – need to be up at 5 tomorrow!

Alex xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

