Join in 

Dear T

Seasons greetings! Sorry for the delay; I’ve been working a lot so haven’t had a chance to sit down at my laptop to write a proper post.

Before I say anything else let me say MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! I hope you have a beautiful one. I went out for Christmas cocktails last night at this new bar in Cheltenham called AquaVitae. We didn’t understand half of the words on the menu so there were a few risk takers among us who took a bit of a bevarage gamble. Sadly, Meg was given one that was literally just six shots of different spirits. Other than that little surprise the evening was wonderful – great atmosphere, great company. 

  

I’m excited to spend Christmas Day with my family tomorrow. There’ll be quite a lot of us (17!) so we’ll actually be going out for lunch. It’ll certainly be different. What are your plans for tomorrow? 

I think it’s important to remember that not everyone can have such a joyful time at Christmas. There are many people who spend the day completely alone. Last year Sarah Millican lead the #joinin campaign on Twitter which offered support to such people. I was totally shocked at how many people tweeting were spending Christmas Day by themselves. And it’s not limited to strangers. There will most likely be someone you know that, for one reason or another, will be experiencing a lonely Christmas this year. Which is why I’m hopeful that those of us who are lucky enough to have our family around us this Christmas should think carefully before boasting across social media or whining about presents/relatives/food. Because there might be someone you know on the other end of Facebook who isn’t so fortunate.

Sarah Millican is fronting the canpaign again this year. So if any readers are feeling alone tomorrow, or fancy showing some support, #joinin. 

  
I hope you have a magical Christmas and new year; I can’t wait to hear what you got up to!

Alex xoxo

Leave a Reply

