Olympicspiration

Dear Alex,

When we started this blog, I was excited for many reasons. It seemed like a cool idea, a chance to communicate with you when our lives today are so separate and also because I love writing.

Since I’ve been back from Spain – Almost two months ago! How did that happen? My life as a professional job searcher has resumed. I eat, sleep and breathe cover letter writing and CV-tweaking and with it my appetite for writing for fun has been lacking. There is nothing like job hunting to make you feel a little bit like your soul is dying. That will be the first and last dramatic comment, I swear.

But hopefully that partly explains why I have been on an extreme blogging hiatus, and I do apologise for my absence. However, I have returned! Never to be gone for so long again (hopefully).

I fully intended to be back blogging a couple of weeks ago but a certain event that only comes around every four years has proven to be a major distraction. I love the Olympics. For all the debates about whether Rio de Janeiro should be allowed to host the games in the first place, nothing takes away from the sheer excellence that takes place wherever the games may be. I have loved every second of watching Michael Phelps, Adam Peaty, Helen Glover & Heather Stanning, The Brownlee brothers – athletes who are just so far and away the best in their field and worked immeasurably hard  to get there. Needless to say I will be gutted when the games end this weekend.

Olympic_rings_446x251.jpg

My love for the Olympics is probably not a huge surprise to you, given that my love of sport was anything but concealed when we lived together. However, seeing people give everything for the prestige of being the best in the world and a medal around their necks is infinitely inspirational to me at a time when I feel I need a bit of inspiration. Don’t get me wrong; the amount of teenagers winning Olympic Medals before they’ve even finished school is amazing to me, and slightly depressing at the same time. I could barely make a decision for myself at sixteen, and these ones are winning Olympic medals. But the Olympics are proof that working hard pays off, a truth that sometimes feels like a big conspiracy and once, every now and again, it’s nice to be reminded of the fact that its not.

Mostly however, the Olympics have made me miss rowing. It’s the only thing I’ve ever really been proud of and the only evidence I have that proves I can do anything if I set my mind to it. Before rowing, I never knew I could. I yearn for the feeling of pushing myself and slowly but surely seeing results, of hard work, of learning something new about the sport and myself.

ekp_file_0__team-gb-logo-600x600_1463414384Not only have the Olympics restored the pride (2nd on the medal leaderboard!)
I had and, given recent events in our country, lost for GB,
but they have also reignited my motivation. So I have made lists, got organised and persisted on with my cover letters and CV’s, because right now a job is my aim. It’s definitely not as exciting as the Olympics, a country load of people won’t be cheering for me and I obviously know that this is not a big deal in comparison to actual Olympians. My point is persistence and anyone can be persistent. So I’ll settle on my persistence in getting a job being my medal for now.

56e18298e4b07cff49f1520a_cv1.jpg

Under Armour brought out a fantastic addition to their ‘Rule Yourself’ campaign, starring Michael Phelps in the build up to the Olympics. The campaign focused on the struggle that goes into being an athlete – early mornings, weights, workouts and failures; all with the slogan:

CdbxOKVWEAARF-v

They may have been talking about Olympians, but it made me think that anyone can take this message away. With any luck at some point all our hard work, in whatever we do, will ‘put [us] in the light’.

 

Love T xxx

P.S I never watched Love Island – I’m very sorry.

P.P.S Can’t wait to hear all your news – your Instagram looks like something out of a gorgeous travel brochure – hope you’re having an amazing time 🙂

Leave a Reply

